News

GWaL PL Innen 2014

Mission accomplished – logistics improved and stabilized

„It was not always easy, but it was certainly a success. The whole logistic is much more stable today than two years ago, “said Johan Geurts, General Manager of Global Warehouse and Logistics, about their activities in Poland.

It was more than 2 years ago, in spring 2014, when Global Warehouse and Logistics took over the warehouse logistics of the Polish company ABRA. As a well-known specialist for warehousing and handling of new furniture, Global Warehouse and Logistics gladly accepted the mission to optimize the cargo flows of one of the leading Polish retailer for furniture goods. “At that time the four existing regional warehouses of ABRA as well as their employees were taken over and now we return four regional warehouses and the workforce to ABRA, “explains Geurts. In the meantime, Global Warehouse and Logistics has relocated one site and implemented state-of-the-art warehousing technology together with a perfectly fitting infrastructure. Not least due to these actions, processes and productivity have become more stable and unit costs have been reduced.

„We met our target. As logistics experts we supported ABRA in a difficult period and strengthened logistic processes with our know-how and our expertise. Now we return a stable organization and warehousing structure, “concludes Geurts and addresses the entire staff in Poland: “We say thank you to all our employees in Poland that made this success possible as well as to ABRA for the trust-based cooperation.”

The Global Warehouse and Logistics group withdraws, at least for the time being, from Poland. But Johan Geurts gives a foretaste of the future: “In the medium term Poland remains, however, an interesting market being an agglomeration of the European furniture manufacturing industry. For us, as a specialized logistics service provider of the furniture and household goods sector, this market remains highly attractive.”

News

GWaL PL Innen 2014

Mission erfüllt – Logistik stabilisiert und modernisiert

„Es war nicht immer leicht, aber es war auf jeden Fall ein Erfolg. Die Logistik ist heute viel stabiler als noch vor zwei Jahren, “ so lautet das Resümee von Johan Geurts, dem Geschäftsführer der Global Warehouse and Logistics Gruppe über deren Aktivitäten in Polen.

Vor etwas mehr als zwei Jahren, im Frühjahr 2014, übernahm die Global Warehouse and Logistics die Lagerlogistik für die polnische Handelskette ABRA. Als weitbekannter Spezialist für die Lagerung und das Handling von Neumöbeln nahm das Unternehmen gern den Auftrag an, die Warenströme für einen der führenden polnischen Möbelhändler zu optimieren. „Wir haben seinerzeit die vier existierenden Regionalläger von ABRA samt deren Mitarbeiter übernommen und geben nun auch wieder vier Regionalläger samt Belegschaft zurück an ABRA, “ erklärt Geurts den aktuellen Schritt. In der Zwischenzeit hat die Global Warehouse and Logistics einen Standort neu eröffnet und Lagertechnik und –Infrastruktur auf den aktuellen Stand der Logistik gebracht. Nicht zuletzt dadurch wurden Prozesse stabilisiert, die Produktivität erhöht und Stückkosten gesenkt.

„Wir haben unseren Auftrag erfüllt. Als Logistikspezialist haben wir in einer schwierigen Phase die Firma ABRA unterstützt und die Logistik mit unserem Know-How und unserer Expertise gestärkt. Nun bekommt ABRA eine stabile Organisation und Lagerstruktur zurück.“ Fasst Geurts noch einmal zusammen und bedenkt auch noch einmal die Menschen vor Ort mit der gebührenden Dankbarkeit: „Unser Dank gilt ausdrücklich allen unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern in Polen, die den Erfolg dort erst möglich gemacht haben und ebenfalls unserem Auftraggeber ABRA für die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit.“

Die Global Warehouse and Logistics Gruppe zieht sich damit, zumindest vorläufig, aus Polen zurück. Johan Geurts gibt aber bereits einen Ausblick in die Zukunft: „Mittelfristig bleibt Polen für uns jedoch weiterhin ein interessanter Markt als Ballungsraum der europäischen Möbelherstellerindustrie. Für uns, als spezialisierter Logistikdienstleister im Bereich Möbel und Haushaltswaren, bleibt dieser Markt hochgradig attraktiv.“